Book Reviews

The Vanishing Throne – SPOILER Book Review

The Vanishing Throne

YA Steampunk Fantasy; By Elizabeth May (Falconer Trilogy #2)

~ “I’m not just the girl whose gift is chaos. I’m the girl who endured.” – Aileana Kameron  ~

26797462.jpg

Letter Grade: A+ (95%)

Aileana Kameron hesitated. One human moment destroyed her human world. Guilty, trapped, terrorized, and tortured, she’s determined more than ever to stop the fae. Except that’s hard to do when she knows that not all fae are bad and that not all deserve to be treated with the same hate and cruelty she had been subjected to by the other Edinburgh debutantes. But Aileana is determined to do right, and not just for her own pleasure. But for the sake of the world.

I saw this series being recommended on Sasha Alsberg’s channel and decided to give it a go! I’m so glad I’ve been introduced to this wonderful world and characters! Elizabeth May has done her research. This Scotland felt real, from the imagery of Edinburgh to the way I felt that the characters spoke…this is one of those series that will whisk you away! But I’ll admit – I completely forgot that everything went to hell at the end of Book 1! So the beginning of the book was quite shocking – but it set the tone. The ferocity with which Elizabeth writes scenes with emotions everywhere is an uncanny ability, but a welcome one. The writing style was a perfect blend of humour and seriousness, making this a super fast read.

I thought Aithinne and Daniel were tremendous additions to the series. They brought so much humanity to the story, and even showcased Aileana’s own weaknesses. By meeting Aithinne, Aileana realized that her desires and her fury alone could not bring justice, but that she needed to be able to lean on others to help serve that justice. So until I read Book 3, I’ll be patiently dreaming about all the ways that Aithinne will kill Lonnrach and all the ways that Aileana will kill Sorcha. So long as Derrick lives, I’m okay. I will be on his side, always. Especially because I think he’s the real reason Aileana has become who she is. Derrick taught her that not all fae are evil. Derrick taught her acceptance and friendship, encouraging her ambitions of engineering in a society that shamed her. He is my cinnamon roll, ya hear me? MINE.

I think the plot itself was solid, but if there’s one thing the book was missing, it’s extra clues as to what the goal of the plot actually was. We get a tidbit of it at the beginning, with Lonnrach saying something about thrones and kingdoms falling apart. But it’s not truly discussed until two thirds of the way through, after Aileana wakes her Falconer powers. But that’s my only criticism because WOW WOW WOW, the Cailleach and the truth scenes were amazingly written, weaving world-building and characterization all in one. It just made central themes of the book that much clearer: that there is duality in everyone. Kiaran is Kiaran and Kadamach, Aithinne is both young woman and Seelie Queen, there’s Lonnrach and Sorcha, and Aileana – girl of chaos and girl who endured. It all just makes the third book seem all the more interesting. Well done Elizabeth May!

This book and series is perfect for people who like subplots and good relationships between female friends. Aileana, Aithinne and Catherine were amazingly written, each with their own flaws. Catherine had to make a lot of tough decisions since Edinburgh’s fall, and she still remained Ailena’s friend despite her convictions about fae and about the chaos she’s brought about since she failed to correctly use the seal. Aileana and Aithinne represent everything that female friendships should be – from the start, there was never any doubt regarding their trust of one another, and it was really obvious in this scene:

“I don’t tell her how much I’m struggling with my anger over what Lonnrach did to me…I’ve spent hours upon hours envisioning the precise way I’d watch him die. I want it to be me. It has to be me. I squeeze my eyes shut. Lonnrach isn’t my kill: he never was. He’s Aithinne’s. ‘We’ll make him pay…’ She presses her hand to mine and I understand. Together” – Elizabeth May

Like…what a way to showcase women’s empowerment through vowing to help one another bring their abuser and torturer down. I was truly in awe of the scene. As I was with Aithinne and Kiaran’s whole story. We finally get to know what happened with the Falconer that Kiaran had once loved. AND I NEVER SAW IT COMING AND I STILL CAN’T BELIEVE IT. Kiaran and Aithinne’s mom is the ruler of the faerie kingdoms. They were raised apart as Unseelie King and Seelie Queen, one destined to kill the other to take the seat as true ruler (here comes the duality again). One destined to bring death to the world, the other destined to bring life. Kiaran/Kadamach killed and killed and killed and when Aithinne was ordered to kill him back…she couldn’t. She imbued strong women with her powers to become the first Falconers to stop Kadamach because she couldn’t stomach going against her own brother. He fell in love with Caitriona, but his love wasn’t stronger than his will to kill anyone and anything. Aithinne tried bringing her back for him, but failed, leaking his power into all other fae. They became monsters of destructions while Kadamach vowed never to kill again. He became Kiaran…AND THEN THE CAILLEACH TROLLED US ALL AND GAVE AILEANA ALL HER POWERS INSTEAD OMG OMG!!

I’m so worried now, you guys. Kiaran saw Aileana gets stabbed to death basically as she ran to destroy the crystal and save everyone. He was truly ready to change and he loves her and…this destroyed him and I’m worried that Aileana won’t get him back this time. I can’t say this enough: for the feels and the imagery and history, this series is HIGHLY recommended!

Love, death, life, endurance, cruelty…the humans are on the brink of extinction. The fae are on the brink of victory. Aileana and her new powers are their literal only hope. To save Kiaran, and Derrick and Catherine and Gavin and Aithinne. To stop the fae once and for all.

“That’s what prisons do. That’s what it means when someone else carves away a piece of your soul until the shape of him fits inside. You can bury it, but it’s always there. He’s always there.” – Aileana Kameron

Leave a comment